2017 Challenges

Published January 2, 2017 by ashleyzwonderland

As 2016 comes to a close, readers are gearing up for (hopefully) another awesome year in books. Some of us opt to participate in challenges to help us meet our goals, try something new, or even just for the fun of it. Whatever the reason may be, it’s time to decide what challenges we’re up for.

I had a lot of personal issues in the last couple of years that have taken me away from the wonderful escape of books. I’m hoping that 2017 will bring new blessings and that one of those is finding my love of reading again. With that said, I’m choosing challenges that won’t be too far out of my comfort zone but still give me that competitive feeling, and ones that will help me take a big chunk out of my TBR. (Although if you’re like me you’ve been blessed/cursed with a TBR you’ll never live long enough to finish, ha.)

These are the challenges I’ve chosen for this year. Clicking on the challenge logo will take you to view host’s post where you can read more information and sign up for yourself.

what-an-animal
This challenge is being hosted by Yvonne from Socrates’ Book Reviews. I’ve been on a big cozy kick as of late and some of those include some very special furry friends. My goal is Level 2 – Read 7-12 books.

purrfect-reading-challenge
This challenge is being hosted by Yvonne from Socrates’ Book Reviews. In keeping with my cozy mystery theme, I’m opting to read more about those frisky felines. My goal is Purring – Read 1-10 cat mysteries.

cozies
This challenge is being hosted by Yvonne from Socrates’ Book Reviews. What better way to knock out those cozies than to cruise on through them? My goal is Level One (Snoop).

craving-for-cozies
This challenge is being hosted by Lori from Escape with Dollycas Into A Good Book. Are we seeing a theme here? My goal is Famished – 11 – 20 Cozy Mysteries.

literary-escapes-2017
This challenge is being hosted by Lori from Escape with Dollycas Into A Good Book. Follow along as I travel the US through books.

abc
This challenge is being hosted by Lori from Escape with Dollycas Into A Good Book. Do you know your ABCs?

2017-pick-your-genre-large
This challenge is being hosted by Anna from Herding Cats & Burning Soup. You decide what genre you want to dig into. My goal is 12 Western Romances.

new-to-me-large
This challenge is being hosted by Anna from Herding Cats & Burning Soup. Genre, author, series, as long as it’s new to you it counts. My goal is 12 new things.

new-release-challenge17
This challenge is being hosted by Lexxie from (un)Conventional Reviews and Stormi from Books, Movies, Reviews Oh My! I feel like I’m always missing out on the latest and greatest. That book that debuted in January with rave reviews? Yeah, I’m not reading it until months later. My goal is 1-30 books per year – New Release Newbie.

read-the-books-you-buy-2017
This challenge is being hosted by Kathryn from The Book Date. Ever see a book you really want and have all intentions of reading it but it gets thrown to the side for whatever reason? My goal is 20% or less – Money Sitting on the Shelf.

full-house-challenge-2017-final
This challenge is being hosted by Kathryn from The Book Date. Are you ready for some book bingo? The goal for this is to blackout your card.

2017-reading-challenge-sign-ups-1
This challenge is being hosted by Tanya from girlxoxo. Each month is a different theme and you must read at least one book within that theme.

2017rc-strictly-print
This challenge is being hosted by Gina from Book Dragon’s Lair. I’ve been into eBooks in the last couple of years because they’re just so much more convenient. However, I still have print books sitting on my shelves that I haven’t gotten around to. My goal for this is Chapter Books: 52.

2017rc-ebook
This challenge is being hosted by Gina from Book Dragon’s Lair. On the reverse side, this is to help me clear off my eShelf. My goal is Level 1: 100 minimum.

screen-shot-2016-11-19-at-6-27-13-pm
This challenge is being hosted by Gina from Book Dragon’s Lair. This focuses on the number of pages read instead of number of books. My goal is Bonsai – Read 12,000 pages.

2015rc-howmanybooks-hosting
This challenge is being hosted by Gina from Book Dragon’s Lair. All you have to do is read! My goal is Level 1: 100 minimum.

2017-paranormal-reading-challenge
This challenge is being hosted by Julie from Whole Latte Books. I’ve always had a thing for witches, vampires, etc. My goal is 10 books.

2017-ya-challenge
This challenge is being hosted by Julie from Whole Latte Books. I haven’t been reading many YA books lately and I’d love to discover some new ones. My goal is 10 books.

color-coded
This challenge is being hosted by Bev from My Reader’s Block. The goal of this is to read 9 books within the specified categories.

mount-tbr-2017
This challenge is being hosted by Bev from My Reader’s Block. Time to dust off those old books you’ve got lying around! My goal is Mount Blanc: Read 24 books from your TBR pile/s.

follow-the-clues-myster-challenge
This challenge is being hosted by Bev from My Reader’s Block. This sounds like a fun way to read my favorite genre. My goal is Infraction — six books read in a single chain of evidence.

witches-witchcraft
This challenge is being hosted by Melissa from Melissa’s Eclectic Bookshelf. I love humorous and cozy witch stories. My goal is Initiate: Read 1 – 5 Witchy Books.

mgr-bingo
This challenge is being hosted by Alysia from Mocha Girls Read. Another fun sounding book bingo. Only have to complete two lines for this one.

cdchallenge2016
This challenge is being hosted by Stormi from Books, Movies, Reviews Oh My! and Barb from Booker T’s Farm. Mysteries have always been my favorite genre. My goal is 5-15 books – Amateur Sleuth.

reading-challenge-20171
This challenge is being hosted by Renee from Addicted to Romance. Who doesn’t love a good paranormal romance? My goal is 5-15 Books- A Shifter Cub Taking Risks In The Forests.

crr2017-760x312
This challenge is being hosted by Andi from Andi’s ABCs. I haven’t been reading much contemporary romance lately although it is one of my favorites. I finally got around to reading one in November that rekindled my passion for it. My goal is 1st Base: read 1 – 5 books.

badboysofromancechallenge
This challenge is being hosted by Shari from Delighted Reader. Who doesn’t love a bad boy right? My goal is Level One – 5-9 books – Capturing the Bad Boy.

shelf_love_2017_250x250
This challenge is being hosted by Terri from Second Run Reviews and Julie at Chapter Break. This is another great challenge to dust off those books that have been on your shelves for awhile. My goal is 11-20 books: pat your shelves on the back.

dac2017mainbutton
This challenge is being hosted by Jan from That Artsy Reader Girl. I love discovering new authors! My goal is 12 books.

2017-discussion-challenge3
This challenge is being hosted by Nicole from Feed Your Fiction Addiction and Shannon from It Starts at Midnight. I say this all the time but I really would like to try doing some discussion posts. My goal is 1 per month, so 12 total.

foodiesreadsmall
This challenge is hosted by Heather from Based on a True Story. Cookbooks, cozies, romances, it all counts as long as it involves food. My goal is Pastry Chef: 4 to 8 books.

2017-outdo-yourself-reading-challenge
This challenge is hosted by Corinne from Everyday Gyaan. Last year I read about 15 books. Definitely not like me at all. I guess that’s what happens when life gets in the way though. My goal is 100 books this year, which is the normal average for me.

womenchallenge2017

This challenge is hosted by Valentina from Peek A Book. As long as the book is by a female author it counts. My goal is Level 4: WONDER WOMAN – read 20+ books written by a woman author.

Paper cut of heart on old book

This challenge is being hosted by ME!! This is my first time doing a challenge and I’m nervous and excited at the same time. My goal is Level 2 – Read 11-20 books.

th_challenge_addict_button3_180px
This challenge is being hosted by (Cheryl & Gina in spirit) Bev from Reading Challenge Addict. My challenge addiction wouldn’t be complete without participating in this one. My goal is On the Roof: 6-10 Challenges (Entered & Completed).

4 comments on “2017 Challenges

  • Leave a Reply

